Forum Message
Country: |  | Membership | 12years 15days ago. | Last Login | 2h ago. | Last Move | 1h 57' ago. | KapteinKnutsen is currently  | |
| Message header Area/Game: | Wooden Ships & Iron Men | Topic: | Suggestions, improvement, critics | Subject: | Re: Light breeze and changing to full sails | Posted by: | KapteinKnutsen - 3years 161days ago. |
|
|
| Message text KapteinKnutsen wrote:
Electro wrote: Happy to make any changes we agree upon here. I'm in one of those games with KK where we both had tons of sail, but couldn't move.
We have already deviated in a number of ways from the original rules, but we're doing so for the sake of online playability mostly. This is one of those rules that doesn't make sense to me either. Why does a ship need to move forward to set full sails?
I can see where it may be like repairs, if the crew is busy firing guns, reloading, or turning the ship, etc, they may not be able to also set full sails. Without looking, I think it would be fairly easy to replicate those conditions. But even still, that seems contrived too.
In my limited reading on the subject, a fully crewed ship in the early 1800's had enough crew to work the guns and work the sails. Any historians out there want to chime in?
I'd vote for just allowing changing sails whenever desired. I somewhat like the 'reinterpreted' rule, whether that was what was in the mind of the creators of the game or not. That would be: There are no restrictions on changing from battle sails to full sails, except that you can't be missing a rigging section.
If you didn't move from your bow hex in the previous movement execution phase, then your movement is restricted by 1) you have to move one hex straight before you can turn (already in place) 2) you lose a turning factor (this too) 3) if you have full sails, you can only use your full sails movement allowance if you go straight ahead, no turns. Otherwise you'll have to use your battle sails movement allowance. (new)
This means that ships already on full sails would be restricted by (3), whereas currently they are only restricted by (1) and (2).
I have no idea if this is tricky to implement or not. If too much trouble, then I am with Electro and vote for just ditching (3) altogether.
The difference between this "reinterpretation" of rule #3 and just ditching it isn't all that great. Supposing you did not move from your bow hex in the previous movement execution phase,
if you are on battle sails the new #3 does not apply, so no difference; if you are on full sails, it does apply, so you have the option of making a move involving turns, in which case you can only use your battle sails movement allowance, or go straight using your full sails movement allowance. If the rule is ditched, you (are still restricted by #1 and #2, but) can use your full sail movement allowance for whatever move you do.
Like I said, not a huge difference. So perhaps it is easier just to delete the rule?
|
|
|
|
|