Message text I went back to the original rules, but I can't see any other way to understand them than that. It is annoying that it isn't clearer, however, the rule is in the Movement Notation Phase section, but does not refer to the Full Sails Phase, where it would have its effect. And there is no mention of any restrictions whatsoever in the Full Sails Phase section.
A possible house rule fix could be, for the Full Sails section:
If a ship did not perform any forward movement (drifting does not count) in the previous turn AND it turned in the current turn, it may not increase sails to full sails.
If a ship did not perform any forward movement (drifting does not count) in the previous turn AND it did not perform any movement whatsoever in the current turn (except possibly drifting), it may increase to full sails, but it must use battle sail speeds in the following turn. That is, full sails benefits are postponed to two turns after the current turn.
Not very elegant, but it is at least a relatively small change to the current rules. |
|
|