Forgot to mention this. But my reference to the both the bow and stern hexes tracing to target, that rule comes from "Close Action" v6.1 by Tempest Games. Also, there are more restictions to blocked lines of fire in "Close Action. If I recall, there must be a one hex clearence to shoot past a friendly. Enemy doesn't count... they can't recieve friendly fire 
Fokker Fodder wrote:
Not correct. Here is what the offical (basic) rules say:
4. A ship may fire at a single enemy ship in a broadside's field of fire subject to two conditions: a. The ship being fired upon must be the closest in the number of hexes to the firing ship of all ships in the field of fire; b. if the "closest ship" happens to be a land hex, friendly ship, surrendered or captured ship, or a hulk, the field of fire is BLOCKED and the ship may not fire that broadside in that turn."
Since the "closest ship" in your case was a friendly ship, your boadside (fire) was blocked.
The Advanced game would have be different. I think you might have been able to fire a patial boadside.
So yes, the ship should not have fired. Sorry, but there it is on PAGE 5 of the rulebook.
|