attalus wrote:
In game Game number 20256, Historycal situation at turn 17, the Fier surrenders because it has no guns. Then later, my ships bombarded the surrendered Fier until it sank. I can't remeber if I recieved points for that. The "Historycal" version doesnt run the points backward. Was I granted points when it surrended, or for when it sank? I can't seem to find in the rules how points are awarded.
It appears as if I was granted points for when it surrendered and when it sank.
Solitaire half points 9 half tonnage 32 L'Orient half points 12 half tonnage 37 Fier full points 14 full tonnage 50 Total 35 119
If we add another Fier to the log: 49 169
If so, is this a bug or a feature? It doesnt really change the standings in the game, but it was closer than the current points seem to indicate.
Yep, you got a windfall profit.
In the above game, on Turn 16, Fier struck by firepower, losing all of her guns. On Turn 27, Victory came downwind and raked her. This action is not in the original rules, but is applicable in the YouPlay.it games: a ship surrendering by firepower can still be fired at, blocks line-of-fire, and if raked sufficiently to cause the loss of all hull squares will "strike" again, resulting in double points for the winner.
This is one of those undocumented perks that can be utilized by experienced players who know how to take advantage of it. The occasion is very rare, however.
The ability to board an enemy, mentioned in your notes between players, is closer than you think. Playtesting has been ongoing for over a year on the Basic Rules, which add boarding and drifting, and recently the developers have included (finally) the ability to capture struck ships by temporary boarding parties. Originally, boarding is the only way to "capture" a ship, resulting in double points. Raking a previously struck ship (by firepower) thus becomes just another method of doubling your points, without having to board. Save it into your memory banks for future access.
In summary, your gaining double points is not a "bug" in the classic sense; we know it's there. Just consider it an extra rule, just for this site.
|