LOGIN
User Name
Password
Remember me


> Not a member yet?
> Forgot your password?
Main menu
Preferred site
Take a play
Forum Message
City:Fort Pierce, Florida US
Personal Data:Male, born: September 01 1948
HomePage or other cool site:http://www.myspace.com/johnnybeamsderfer
Membership19years 305days ago.
Last Login13years 259days ago.
Last Move16years 33days ago.
pbass111 is currently Offline!Send a mail to pbass111

Message header
Area/Game:Wooden Ships & Iron Men
1Topic:Bugs and Improvements
Subject:Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
Posted by: pbass111 - 18years 327days ago.
Message text
Longneck wrote:
pbass111 wrote:

Unless I was mistaken, Bucentaure was moving into the wind, not with it. Yes, he could pivot, then move 1 upwind, but he should not be able to make a second turn as his upwind turn would have been completed, leaving himself open to rakes. Maybe just too much Holiday Cheer on my part.... Im the advanced game for WS&IM, under full sails, this would have been a legal move.


Hi Johnny. Like you, I thought this was illegal, but we were mistaken. I dug around, and according to the rules, a ship has its full movement allowance available, even if it turns to attitude C. A SOL can only move one hex forward in C, but it still has that third point to pivot (if it started the turn in A). I thought once you turned into C, you had only one point left period. Live and learn, eh?

And I quote: 12. The movement allowance for each attitude to wind also limits the number of hexes a ship may move while in that particular attitude. Example: A ship with battle sail factor of 4 starting in attitude A has a movement allowance of 4. If it turns to attitude C, it may only move one hex in that direction as the movement allowance for this attitude is 1. It may turn back to attitude A after moving one hex in C and finish its move in A Attitude.


This is getting pretty legalistic for my taste, as these are not frigates moving into the wind. In the same spirit as when you move into D, and must stop, so should the turn to C limit you to a single hex under battle sails.

I'm gonna see if the author is still around online somewhere for an editorial analysis. Otherwise, I'll just live with it, and use it as another tool.
Messages thread
Posting elapsed timePosted bySubject

18years 330days avallega [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
18years 330days pbass111 Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
18years 329days avallega Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
 18years 329days pbass111 Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
 18years 329days pbass111 Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
 18years 327days Longneck Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
  18years 327days pbass111 Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
 18years 326days pbass111 Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
  18years 325days avallega Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
18years 254days avallega Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
 18years 254days avallega Re: [WS&IM][BUG] Info to provide when you discover a bug
Page generated in: 26.36719 milliseconds.