Dibbs wrote:
I agree, there is a bug and the ship should have been sunk. However, the movement rules are being correctly followed. Ships with a movement allowance of 0 are still allowed to make a free turn.
Cutting and pasting from the rules page.... 15. A ship which has a movement allowance of 0 may always turn in place 60 degrees. This is free.
hope this helps, Dibbs
There seems to be a slight contradiction in the rules on this point. Read down a little further under "Movement Execution Phase":
5. Ships which have lost all rigging-squares (become dismasted) drift with a special turning allowance. a. Dismasted ships with a turning ability of 1 must wait at least three consecutive turns while drifting before being able to make a 60 degree turn. b. Dismasted ships with a turning ability of 2 must wait at least two consecutive turns while drifting before being able to make a 60 degree turn. c. Dismasted ships with a turning ability of 3 must wait at least one turn while drifting before being able to make a 60 degree turn. d. If a dismasted ship makes a 60 degree turn while drifting, it must wait the same period before making another turn.
Once the drifting rules are implemented (if there are plans for this?), I am hoping that these rules fix the problem. Even by dropping anchor and pulling or sending out the long boats, a dismasted ship should not be able to turn 60 degrees in a single turn. Since the new rigging rules were implemented, it has become almost impossible to maneuver against a group of dismasted ships. |