sven_r wrote:
Game number 543, move 20 -
I don't get it: Here in turn 19 the SOL Royal Oak is raking the SOL Duc of Bougogne that had lost all of its sails already in turn 16. There are no SOL elsewhere (only 2ndSOL) so according to this text
" If all rigging squares are marked off, and no friendly ship of the same or larger class as the firing ship is within ten squares distance, the ship will surrender to the first enemy ship which can rake its hull. This is known as â€surrender by immobility.†In this case, the ship is an obstacle to guns."
I should have the french SOL getting surrendered!?
Nope.
Let's analyze the rule piecemeal...
1. If all rigging squares are marked off
Yep, they are.
2. and no friendly ship of the same or larger class as the firing ship is within ten squares distance
What is the firing ship? Royal Oak, yours. So, are there any French ships within 10 of the target (Duc) of the same or larger class as the Royal Oak (firing ship)? Sure. Neptune is within 10 of Duc.
So, thus, the rule does not apply and there is no surrender. |